Bio ethanol and unleaded mix

kbox

Octane Boostaholics
Well Lads I decided to be a brave shobgite. I've put a mix of 70/30% mix of unleaded and E85 into my tank today. Just 20:6 litres. No problems yet. Acceleraton is down a very small bit on what it was beforehand but I didnt really floor it just in case. And that could be down to the warm day today?

Can anyone say for definite how much Lucas will rais the RON by? If I'm working this out correctly (6*104)+(20*95) divided by 26. Then the RON rating in my tank at present is 97RON without Octane Booster. Feel free to correct me because I'm not as well up on this as ye are.

I read somewhere that the impreza engine can take no more than a 30% mix of ethanol. If the engine starts to run poorly I'll fill it with unleaded anyway.

I'll keep ya'll updated on it anyway....

hi mate, do you have a knocklink fitted, if not i'd take it very easy untill i was more sure of this, especially if the accelaration was down , im not an expert but i'd say this has been researched somewhere already and if its the dogs bollox it probably would be making all the headlines in the modified car world :dunno:. just my 2 cents anyway. cheers :thumbsup:

No reason to make all headlines, since alcohol is used in cars for many years - methanol, ethanol.

The only problem was/is the cars - some/most of them need conversion (less or more work, not all of them need new fuel lines and fuel-pump, some need bigger injectors, some only remap to use E85).
However, lower percentage of ethanol may be used without conversion (in most cases up to 20-30%, even if only 10% is guaranteed by factory).
There's maybe one more problem for people who want to use ethanol/methanol - you have to buy it at some chemical stores. Just for few last months (let's say years) you can buy E85 on some (not so many) petrol stations.