GC8 Timing Belt Questions

cwrx

Sunday Drivers
Hi All as you may know i have a 96 Jap WRX STI that needs a bit of tlc :oops: I have taken into doing the belt kit and have found all 4 cam timing marks are way out when the crank marks are lined up or if the 4 cam marks are lined up like the last lad done with his tippex the crank is out of line? I am a mechanic by trade but never done one of these flat fours before and never seen timing to bet out so far and to have an engine to run and do no damage. is this engine a non interference engine?

20240225_164428.jpg

Attachments

• 20240225_164356.jpg
    20240225_164356.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 14
  • 20240225_164428.jpg
    20240225_164428.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 15
Are you looking at the right crank mark on the toothed crank gear . It’s on the back of the pully it’s a line . Lads get confused with the star mark stamped into the front

They are completely wrong

You need to lock the 2 right hand cam pulleys as they are on cam ,
double lines meet each other so inlet cam , double line will be at the bottom, exhaust will be at top , then the single lines inlet facing up , exhaust facing to the right lining up with your back covers

Same with left side but mirrored on your single lines

Make sure your crank isn’t 180 degrees out

When the belt is on and all cams are lined up correctly, turn over a few times slowly to make sure no piston to valve contact

I have sourced a quality timing belt kit from Ali Burrows and hopefully I'll have it for the weekend and get it fitted and get her moving under its own power instead of pushing her about the place 🥵🥵

The marks on the new belt are only a guide for fitting, once you turn it over after lining up , the belt marks never line up again so go by your timing marks on the pulleys and back covers

Did you line up the pulleys after with the 2 lines together at the pulleys nearest point and then see where the tooted crank pulley is at 👍👍 can send you photos if you need