Compression Testing

Aido 8sti

Hi guys
So I like to know is it a must before buying. Its just that I have seen it on a wrx buying guide a while back and I really like to know what you guys think or what way you guys went about buying.

Im not a mechanic so Im just trying to learn as much as I can so I dont get stung.

Regards Aidan

It gives a general indication of engine health but won?t give the whole story.

There is a lot of stripping involved on both sides of the engine , air box on the drivers , washers bottle and possibly battery (depending on how familiar the mechanic or yourself is with Subarus) and can take 30-40mins

Most owners when buying a 3-6k car won?t entertain you looking to do a compression test . I?m my view no need in that price range of car . If it ticks over fine , no smoke or knocks has some service history or maintenance recently with belt changed then there no need .
Buy off a garage if you need a warranty or bring someone who knows what?s the looking for .
But even doing a compression and all is good and you buy the car , it could melt a piston or drop a valve 1 klm Down the road so there?s no guarantee

That car you posted above needs to be cleared . Vrt. Could be 1000-4000 + 7 for the car is 8k-11k . Can you insure an Sti ? As I?d be checking that before you buy 1 .

It really depends on what you want and what your budget is . Blob Sti will be 13-18k Wrx will be 4-8k and with a few mods on the Wrx you can be up near sti power . It really depends what you want .

Best advice I can give is buy a good car that?s being looked after :thumbsup:

Awesome thanks, I cant see that post I posted from this end, thought it didnt go through lol

That blob you posted in Tyrone is a wrx made look like sti wide track so your buying a wrx with a few nice bits on it.

Becareful jumping into a car that needs a rebuilt engine is it classic or new age 2.0l or 2.5 post up ad if you have one lads might be able to help you more