Aircooled VW Splitscreen Bus to Subaru conversion

Spud

Hi Lads
I'm new to the forum and would love some advice from you guys . To make a short story boring , I own a VW splitty which I had converted to Subaru power using the EJ20 engine from I think it was a 2004 Legacy. Conversion done by Fellows speed shop in the UK. They offered two options at the time the 2Lt or the 2.5 Lt phase two engines and I chose the 2Lt which has been very reliable but unfortunately it lacks torque in my bus which is much heavier than the car it came from.The bus will `just get to 120 kph on a good road with no wind and that is as fast as I would ever really ever need but I want to cruise comfortably at that speed .The main problem is the lack or torque on hills so I want to put in a more suitable engine. Fellows speed shop no longer offer the 2.5 Lt option due to some of their 2.5 conversions coming back to them with bottom end problems. . I am not a mechanic and have only very limited knowledge of engines including Subaru.
The EJ20 engine is mated to the original 5Mt gearbox from the donor legacy which has the flipped and reverse cut ring and pinion installed so I dont have one forward and five reverse gears.
The purpose of this thread is to ask for help to get a more suitable engine conversion still using the same gearbox. Money is a very big factor at this stage. I would love to hear suggestions as to the most sensible route I should go.