Irish Subaru Drivers Club Forum - Powered by vBulletin

#

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: V4 Wont Idle

  1. #1
    Sunday Drivers
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
    Rides
    0
    Rep Power
    4

    V4 Wont Idle

    Hi All,

    I was reversing my v4 type out of the shed a few weeks back and it just started running lumpy and would not idle.

    My fuel gauge was low so I assumed it ran out of petrol.

    I put about 20 litres into her last night and again the same issue.

    It can misfire, backfire and cut out.

    Eventually if you do get to start her and rev it to 3-4k and it avoids stalling once its warm it runs ok.

    The temp gauge is also erratic.

    It has an obd2 port, which ive tried a launch system and the torque pro app, neither could connect to the ecu.

    It's almost like an ignition problem, new plugs were fitted, ht leads tested o.k , no loose earths.

    I'm wondering those the temp gauge effect the ecu's cold performance?
    Last edited by pugtk; 11-06-2018 at 12:45.

  2. #2
    Sunday Drivers
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
    Rides
    0
    Rep Power
    4
    Just on the diagnostic port side of things, I know this was a cross over year for obd1 and obd2 ports.

    There's a green and black connectors under the dash also.

    Read online that connecting these will allow you to read codes by flashing lights ( much like old Hondas etc )

    Would these need to be connected also to allow the obd2 connection to communicate with the ecu? It would seem a bit strange.

    Work away from home during the week, so this will wreak my head until I can get home!

  3. #3
    Sunday Drivers
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
    Rides
    0
    Rep Power
    4
    So I got my brother to send on a video of the flashing codes (check light)

    22- Knock Sensor
    23- MAF
    31- Throttle Position Sensor
    45- Pressure Switch

    I can'y imagine all these went at once, so which would be the most likely culprit.

    I thought a temperature sensor was the problem, guess not!

  4. #4
    Petrolheads
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    390
    Thanks
    320
    Thanked 309 Times in 152 Posts
    Rides
    0
    Rep Power
    5
    I’d start with MAF first and then knock sensor

  5. #5
    Member Number 25
    Full ISDC Members 2015
    DUFFMAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Dublin
    Posts
    7,054
    Thanks
    623
    Thanked 549 Times in 305 Posts
    Rides
    0
    Rep Power
    25
    I would clear the codes and see what it throws up again.

    They could be old codes.

    Then try it with the maf sensor disconnected and see will it run?
    as Marcus Gronholm once said "up the arse of timo"...

  6. #6
    Member Number 2766
    ISDC Club Treasurer
    scoobysub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    kilkenny
    Posts
    11,962
    Thanks
    2,704
    Thanked 2,563 Times in 1,620 Posts
    Rides
    1
    Rep Power
    10
    As above clear the old codes and see what codes come back and take it from there
    colin, richard, bertie, frank, gone but not forgotten.

    Peter marks account Reopened in Style!!!

  7. #7
    Sunday Drivers
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
    Rides
    0
    Rep Power
    4
    I've got the brother to disconnect the battery, so by the time I get home at the weekend she should be reset.

    Can't really run her through the reset steps as she's no fully ready for the road just yet.

    Must check if there is a 9 pin port under the dash and see if he has a ssm fitting for his launch somewhere if there even is one for that system.

  8. #8
    Full ISDC Club Member BazGF8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Dublin
    Posts
    6,262
    Thanks
    381
    Thanked 388 Times in 227 Posts
    Rides
    0
    Rep Power
    20
    Have you looked at the idle control valve ?
    V4 Sti Wagon

  9. #9
    Sunday Drivers
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
    Rides
    0
    Rep Power
    4
    Just home today, so having another luck.

    After disconecting the battery. Once the black connectors are connected im getting a continious flash.

    So the ecu has no stored faults.

    Starts up and runs fine for about 30 secs then cuts out

    Going to try the tps first

  10. #10
    Sunday Drivers
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
    Rides
    0
    Rep Power
    4
    Some codes came back on again

    23 and 31

    Still no further on.

    Might try the tps first

  11. #11
    Member Number 2766
    ISDC Club Treasurer
    scoobysub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    kilkenny
    Posts
    11,962
    Thanks
    2,704
    Thanked 2,563 Times in 1,620 Posts
    Rides
    1
    Rep Power
    10
    Throttle position sensor is 31 And coolant temp sensor is 23 I'd be starting there
    colin, richard, bertie, frank, gone but not forgotten.

    Peter marks account Reopened in Style!!!

  12. #12
    Sunday Drivers
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
    Rides
    0
    Rep Power
    4
    Maf tested while running 1v to approx 5v before i lost power

    Also a puff of fumes managed to come back out the intake.

    Tps meased on ohms off the car from .7v closed to aprrox 5.5v fully open

    Going to try temp sensor next

    Then have a look at my timing to make sure a tooth wasnt jumped

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •