Irish Subaru Drivers Club Forum - Powered by vBulletin

#

Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Speaker help

  1. #1
    Sunday Drivers
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 43 Times in 18 Posts
    Rides
    0
    Rep Power
    1

    Speaker help

    So I picked up some new front speakers for the speakers as the ones in it were beyond useless. I bought some vibe component speakers. I'd hoped I would be able to just run a wire with spade connectors from the factory plug to the wire and that would be it but unfortunately this doesn't seem to work. So if anyone can point me in the right direction on how to get em up and running that'd be great
    Stock 03 wrx headunit b

    Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Full ISDC Club Member Gary sti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Dublin
    Posts
    1,135
    Thanks
    375
    Thanked 580 Times in 367 Posts
    Rides
    0
    Rep Power
    7
    You can buy the connections in Halfords that convert it to fit speakers
    Mine came in spacer box but can also get them separate

  3. #3
    Sunday Drivers
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 43 Times in 18 Posts
    Rides
    0
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Gary sti View Post
    You can buy the connections in Halfords that convert it to fit speakers
    Mine came in spacer box but can also get them separate
    I've made up spacers but the issue seems to be the driver side front speaker doesn't work, but the passenger one works perfectly. Both are wired from the factory connector just using spade connectors. I don't understand what's happening as to why the driver side doesn't work

    Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Full ISDC Club Member Gary sti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Dublin
    Posts
    1,135
    Thanks
    375
    Thanked 580 Times in 367 Posts
    Rides
    0
    Rep Power
    7
    Unless left/right balance is off must be a loose or brake in cables you could check with a volt meter the resistance but have to take out head unit to test cable going to door but if it worked before you took out old one check connections are good put old speaker back on to check


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Gary sti For This Useful Post:

    Owain (21-10-2017)

  6. #5
    Sunday Drivers
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 43 Times in 18 Posts
    Rides
    0
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Gary sti View Post
    Unless left/right balance is off must be a loose or brake in cables you could check with a volt meter the resistance but have to take out head unit to test cable going to door but if it worked before you took out old one check connections are good put old speaker back on to check


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    The balance is working, rear speakers work fine. I checked the connections going to both front speakers and they are getting the same voltage. Weirdly when I connect the speaker on the driver side the tweeter plays music but the speaker doesn't...
    I hate electrical problems :(

    Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk

  7. #6
    Full ISDC Club Member Gary sti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Dublin
    Posts
    1,135
    Thanks
    375
    Thanked 580 Times in 367 Posts
    Rides
    0
    Rep Power
    7
    If voltage coming out of cable and doesn't speaker don't work must be faulty speaker if u have volt meter you can check new speaker with it


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  8. #7
    Sunday Drivers
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 43 Times in 18 Posts
    Rides
    0
    Rep Power
    1
    I've tested that by connecting the speaker on the other side where it worked perfectly...

    Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk

  9. #8
    Full ISDC Club Member Gary sti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Dublin
    Posts
    1,135
    Thanks
    375
    Thanked 580 Times in 367 Posts
    Rides
    0
    Rep Power
    7
    If volts same at both sides that's strange to say the least but does the old one work in door below tweeter


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  10. #9
    Sunday Drivers
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 43 Times in 18 Posts
    Rides
    0
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Gary sti View Post
    If volts same at both sides that's strange to say the least but does the old one work in door below tweeter


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Nope it does not, although that could be blown as they are absolutely battered.
    This could be due to my lack of knowledge too... With Component speakers is it necessary to run a crossover, even when you don't have an amp installed?

    Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk

  11. #10
    Full ISDC Club Member Gary sti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Dublin
    Posts
    1,135
    Thanks
    375
    Thanked 580 Times in 367 Posts
    Rides
    0
    Rep Power
    7
    No should work with out amp mine do anyway be unlikely that the two sets are gone I'd say break in cable from unit to door


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  12. #11
    Sunday Drivers
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 43 Times in 18 Posts
    Rides
    0
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Gary sti View Post
    No should work with out amp mine do anyway be unlikely that the two sets are gone I'd say break in cable from unit to door


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    But surely wouldn't be getting power then would it?

    Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk

  13. #12
    Full ISDC Club Member Gary sti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Dublin
    Posts
    1,135
    Thanks
    375
    Thanked 580 Times in 367 Posts
    Rides
    0
    Rep Power
    7
    No you're right if it has consistent power it's strange that it ain't working I the fact that tweet is working above it is strange I am sure someone will have had similar issues might help i am stuck from what you say unfortunately pal


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  14. #13
    Webmaster SCOOBYCOLM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Dublin
    Posts
    20,469
    Thanks
    4,217
    Thanked 2,457 Times in 1,711 Posts
    Rides
    2
    Rep Power
    10
    Swop other speaker over and see if same
    If not speaker
    It's cabling
    Or your head unit was fooked to begin with
    Stock units are poor anyway so dump that and see how you get on would be my advice
    And if same fresh cable from head unit should sort


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  15. #14
    Octane Boostaholics
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    620
    Thanks
    289
    Thanked 254 Times in 157 Posts
    Rides
    0
    Rep Power
    6
    Great value in halfords on double din units at the minute! Standard head units are dirt

  16. #15
    Sunday Drivers
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 43 Times in 18 Posts
    Rides
    0
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Shane P View Post
    Great value in halfords on double din units at the minute! Standard head units are dirt
    Would like to get it swapped out alright... Just got other expenses due like TB & wp, pads all round, caliper rebuilds etc I think I'll just have to add it to the list.
    Cheers lads, I'll peal some of the cabling further back and see if anything obvious sticks out.
    Swapping speakers around changes nothing.

    Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •