Mazda rx8

Gar571

Sunday Drivers
Hi lads, the misses really wants one of these but I have no knowledge of them at all, but I do remember the rx7 which also has the Wankel engine needs a compulsory rebuild at certain mileage. I may be well off with that statement and am open to correction and reviews from anyone that's had experiences with them, thanks in advance.

I haven't owned one but my mate did and they are a pig on fuel and your right they need a build at around 50k, nice car though other than that

wagon dec

Driven loads of them in a main dealer I worked for back in the day.

One of the most gutless cars I've ever driven and engine replacements were a regular thing.
As dec said they eat juice too.
Mazda parts are very dear too when something goes wrong.

Nice sharp looking car and rwd thrills smooth rotery engine revs like a motor bike cool design with the suicide doors and most 231 bhp cars got nice leather and the bose sound system.

But

My advice don't do it

Good mate had one for 3 years 231bhp model.

Huge petrol consumption no matter if drivin like a nun or a nutter round 10-12 mpg real world mpg.

Huge oil consumption 5lt per 1000/1500 km.

As and said above gutless was in it once and floored it in 4th on the motorway (slight hill) it wouldn't go above 75mph...until I closed the sunroof engine has feck all toqure

Biggest problem is the problem with seals failing look it up well known problem and requires a Rebuild.

loads of little things that a "normal" engine doesn't require maintaince wise and problem is most went maintained proplery.

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

Very seriously looked at buying one a few years back as looks nice enough, great handling and the idea of a 9000rpm red line is just something that makes me smile...

... however...

Yes, they are well thirsty and don't expect better than 25mpg on a good one and about 18mpg or so is quite normal.