PDA

View Full Version : Question about Mapping



WetPatch
03-01-2007, 16:31
I know all about the ECU unit that does this but at the momment and for the foreseable futur atm i cant affored 1 of them, now i was told that u could just reset the chip so it will configure to the lower ron petrol and that it would only cost 200 euro or so to do. ?

:ponder:

B4 Alan
03-01-2007, 17:36
If you can't afford to get it done straight away make sure you use booster (lucas or NF) and get a knocklink fitted to give you early warning of det... the ecu will 'retard' itself to compensate for the lower RON but you need to take it handy till you get a re-map...

Alan.

davelegacy
03-01-2007, 17:54
New age ECU.s are a lot better then classics at retarding themselves. Still map is best way to go.. lot cheaper then an engine...

Niallyboy
09-01-2007, 10:23
Hey wetpatch to reset your ECU all you need to do is disconnect
from battery leave for a while and reconnect ..........now there is a
procedure for doing this correctly i think ????? but basicaly that's it.

Anyway a Classic shape impreza's ECU can only retard 1 or 2 octane
which won't be enough for our 95RON.
As Alan said Octane booster & Knocklink till ya get the re-mapp.

Niall.