newbie here,respraying my 97 type r

brianp

Sunday Drivers
Hi people,i just joined in,ive owned my 97 type r now for nearly 10 years
she has 150k miles and still purring but the body has taken some punishment
over the years,usual chips and spots of bubbling

The car is more then a car to me,she will never be sold,
so i want to start pumping a few bob into her,starting with a respray.

Question is i want somebody whose going to do a fantastic job,no cheap ass
quick paint up sh*t,but something special,i want to go from white to P1 blue.

So who do you scooby enthusiasts rate nationwide?is there a sprayer out their highly rated
any where in the country that you would trust to do a 110% job,cus down my way i dont think there is, thanks guys

People will always have there views.

Changing colour will put most future buyers off. Imo stay white.

But if not planning on selling then thats not an issue.

Looking at 3 k for proper job

If you plan on keeping it you'd be best stripping it to a bare shell and doing it right the once... Windows out ... all running gear removed and underside stripped etc.

Seen to many with full resprays and over spray in areas it shouldnt be seen and badly masked lines.

As above... I agree with Dave... I'd leave it white.

:welcometotheclub

Where are you based and how far are you willing to travel to get it done? Someone would be able to advise then. It's a very hard thing to judge from people's opinions though as they are all coming from people with different standards.

If you are going to change from white, just consider what it would look like if you didn't strip down the engine bay etc and someone opens the bonnet.

Take plenty of pictures through all the stages so you can show anyone that it wasn't because of a bang.

And get some pics up of how she stands now, we love pics here :subaru: