advice regarding gearbox refitting problem

scoobysub

ISDC Club Member
:icon_rolleyes: ye me again with more problems :icon_grin: .right after removing the old gearbox fitting a new clutch kit the new gearbox wont go on all the way its about 2" short. the clutch and pressure plate is aligned properly and the release bearing is on the fork is there something i'm doing wrong :ponder:

What did you align the clutch plate with Joe?

Have you tried turning the engine over by hand with a power bar and the input shaft might just shimmy in then?

I'm a fecking expert fitting gearboxes at this stage :thumbsup:

baz just got there before me
joe check to see if the splines on the clutch and the shaft on the box are perfectly lined up as the two wont engage fully otherwise

Also you need the have the fork all the forward as far as it will go towards the engine while fitting the box and when she click into place and you get a few bolts in , give the fork a proper firm push towards the bulkhead which will engage the bearing into the pressure plate

clutch alignment tool baz . same as always have put 8 clutch in different things over the past few years and never had a problem or never had to have a second go at it . tried turning the engine by hand and still no joy to line it up . ye the fork is up at the engine side just wanted to check i wasn't doing anything wrong

[quote author=scoobysub link=topic=36079.msg413369#msg413369 date=1351896538]
clutch alignment tool baz . same as always have put 8 clutch in different things over the past few years and never had a problem or never had to have a second go at it . tried turning the engine by hand and still no joy to line it up . ye the fork is up at the engine side just wanted to check i wasn't doing anything wrong
[/quote]

I used a broken input shaft that was cut to do mine . did you change the pilot bearing in the flywheel?

[quote author=scoobysub link=topic=36079.msg413373#msg413373 date=1351898369]
No didnt change it baz