Legacy B4 not running after messing with Fuel filter

braf89

Well I'm new to isdc and unfortunately this is a bad start. Im completely new to Subaru's and don't know a lot about them so Im just wondering could anyone know what could be wrong. The car was doing a bit of jumping between around 2000-2500 revs but then it'd go out of it. So after days reading everything I could find I saw something about the fuel filter. So I gave it a go this evening just so have a look and see what it was like.

Turned out it was OK looking so I tried putting it back together. But the o ring seemed to have gone too big to fit right. Eventually, after ages messing with it, I seemed to get it back normal. I put everything back and primed it a few times. Then tried to start. Wouldn't start. Eventually after a good while at it, it starts but only for about a minute and then dies out. If ya rev it it'l last longer but its not sounding right. Did anyone ever have or hear of a similar problem. If the o ring wasn't creating a tight enough seal would it cause a problem like this?

Any help would be great.. Thanks... :new_puppy_dog_eyes:

Ok hopefully thats all thats causing the problem. You dont have the filter and o ring kit to suit them? Its a 01 legacy.

@davelegacy I was going to buy that off ya but went into a motorstore in town and got a o ring to suit and its back normal again. Still at the sort of jumping the odd time between 2k-2.5k revs. Any idea what it could be. Tried maf took it out and cleaned it no difference it looks like it has been replaced before aswel.

[quote author=braf89 link=topic=33993.msg389961#msg389961 date=1334156311]
@davelegacy I was going to buy that off ya but went into a motorstore in town and got a o ring to suit and its back normal again. Still at the sort of jumping the odd time between 2k-2.5k revs. Any idea what it could be. Tried maf took it out and cleaned it no difference it looks like it has been replaced before aswel.
[/quote]