A Little Business Advice!!

MrMagoo

Middle Lane Hogs
Hey folks, am new to the business world in that I opened my own Graphic Design & Print Company 1 year ago, things are going ok, but I feel im not making the most of the opportunities around, does anybody have any decent advice for a newbie!

Looking for info on:

1 Best ways to advertise
2 Building a client list
3 Networking
4 Getting the foot in the door of new companies, before they have had all there designs done and printed!!

This may not be Scooby related but if I dont get my ass in gear it may resiult in me loosing my scooby!! LOL

[EDIT] Sorry, spamming for business is not allowed Eoin[/EDIT]

I'm a designer myself Eoin, well, at least I like to think so. Building up a reputation is tough and there is a LOT of competition in Cork. I started on my own about 8 years ago, luckily I had been working for some reputable studios in Cork and I found it easy enough getting work by word of mouth after building up a good portfolio.

You may get good advice over at www.creativeireland.com - join the forum and see what's happening...

Good luck and sorry for having to edit your post - ISDC policy ;)

Sorry about the inappropriate post Scooby555

Cheers for the link, just registered and it looks very interesting. Whats the company name you own?
When I started out, i was lucky enough to get overflow work from a printers in douglas, I have moved away from him due to non payment and have since been self sufficient, wouldnt mind getting a contact like that again though, to concentrate on design.

Any ideas as to how i should go about this?? Or any other experience you have had?
Any help is really appreciated!

Regards
Eoin