Turbo Help/Advice

STiBug

Sunday Drivers
Hi all, just lookin for a bit of advice on turbos.

Story is I have a vf30 turbo in da car but there is a crack in the exhaust housing. I have sourced 3 second hand vf30 turbos but on inspection each one of them has the same crack in the same place!

Does anyone know if this is a common problem with this model turbo? Also Im thinking of maybe going for a vf34 or vf35 turbo to avoid this problem again. Which would be the best option to go for and would the car need to be re-mapped if I went for one of the other turbos?!

If you change turbo to a different type , especially a bigger power unit, you would be best to get i mapped, this makes the job a bit more exensive. Maybe try have a look for someone who is upgrading there vf30, i didnt think exhaust housing cracks were a common problem, but im no expert

As Ken has said, if changing to a larger turbo: I would think it advisable to remap the car so as not to cause damage and to ensure full benefit of the bigger turbo is achieved.

Also you may wish to upgrade injectors etc so as not to have any single components running close to their limit ultimately putting undue pressure on these individual components.

Seemingly the VF 30/34/35 are all the same sized turbos. just different bearing designs!
So I'm thinking, unless getting spool 500rpm soon is a big problem, then I think you'd get away with out remapping!
Although, I would personally consider mapping her for some mods sooner rather than later, just incase!
And for a few more ponies!! :icon_headbang:

Dan

VF30