Getting very nerdy with engine capacity options!!!

F

forester sti

Here's what I'm thinking about!!
Bareing in mind that I am a carpenter,
EJ20's redline at 8,000 rpm, EJ25's redline at 7,000
I think maybe that is largely down to the shorter throw of the 75mm crank as opposed to the 79mm crank of the 2.5!
The popular options for more cc's is fitting a EJ25 crank to an EJ20 making the 2.1
And Boring out a Closed Deck Block (CDB) to 97mm and fitting the EJ25 crank)
Both of which do away with the revvier EJ20 75mm crank, and hence loosing out on 1000rpm, ie. one less gear change across the quarter mile line! or between bends in mondello??
Of course you gain maybe 10% more Torque, But not sure if the lack of revs would suit a short ratio 'box like a type R or RA and some Jap newages!

So, I got thinking about big bore, short stroke options, in favour of gaining capacity but keeping the 8,000rpm redline

Has Anyone ever heard of anyone doing this, and what's the results?

My own next step is 2.71L torque monster, as it suits my longer ratio 'box and I do like Torque :icon_biggrin:

Torquey Options

2.5 99.5mm bore x 79mm stroke, standard 2.5

2.1 92mm bore x 79mm stroke, EJ20 with 2.5 crank

2.35 97mm bore x 79mm stroke, EJ20 or EJ22 CDB with 2.5 crank

2.71 102mm bore x 83mm stroke, EJ257 linered with custom 83mm crank :icon_headbang:

Revvy Options

2.0 92mm bore x 75mm stroke, standard EJ20

2.22 97mm bore x 75mm stroke, Standard EJ22 (22B)

2.36 100mm bore x 75mm stroke, EJ257 with EJ20 crank

2.46 102mm bore x 75mm stroke, Ej257 linered with EJ20 crank

Dan

as far as i know crank stroke does limit redline to a certian extent!
be interesting to know this, would like to keep my ej20 crank and have a 2.2 or 2.3 in the future! somethin iv always bien thinkin about is increasing the engine capasity. :ponder:

My own next step is 2.71L torque monster, as it suits my longer ratio 'box and I do like Torque