What fuel for JDM Forester S/Tb ?

Pique

Hi all,

I'm new to Subarus but I've heard that they need to be run on high octane fuel.
Bearing in mind that I can only get Unleaded 95 locally, what is the consensus on that?

A fuel replenishment technician told me about an additive called 'Millers'.
Does anyone recommend the use of the stuff or is it overkill ? Is Redex a waste of money or would it do the job?
Do I even need to use anything ?

I'm running 265bhp and do lots of short journeys, btw.

Thanks

Pat.

Hi Pat,

If you can get to a Maxol garage, you can use E5 which is about 97/98 ron. I've never heard of Millers, but the traders and members here all swear by NF or Lucas octane booster.

Steve.

probaby best off taking the plunge , and getting her mapped for what you can get locally ....
probably cost between 800-1000 notes , but its piece of mind your buying ,which is priceless

Howdy,
The JDM foresters s/tb is 240bhp out of the box!
So she's not to highly stressed, and I drove the heart out of one for years without issue, untill one day the engine went pop!
I would use 100ml of NF octane booster per tank of petrol, If you can get Maxol E5 all the better!
Happy motoring man!
Great to have more foresters on board! :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
Dan

First off, don't waste your money on millers, use NF or Lucas...

If you can only get 95 locally, then the you only have the choice to add a lot of the booster mentioned (lucas and NF) or get the car mapped to suit the 95 petrol.

There are a few mappers on the site, Jolly green monster, Couture Auto, Sti Tuning, East Coast Customs. Contact them all to see who'll give you the best deal on an ecutek remap. Contact details are on the forum main page in the traders section :thumbsup:

Cheers for the quick replies guys.

I just brought it in from England last w'end and it's had a VF35 fitted and an Ecutek (Bob Rawle) remap to match.
I'll contact the guy I bought it from to see if it was mapped to 95 or 97 ron.