BAD NEWS!

hego

Sunday Drivers
well, the engine went pop on the legacy friday 13th ha, its being investigated at the moment!
as mine is a 01 and i think i might have an engine, but its off a 99 auto will this ok, and will the ecu be ok or what would i need to do! its already mapped
thanks in advance

what kind of car is it?I am going to presume its a B4 in which case the engine os not the same..it runs slightly higher compression and smaller turbos.

really nuts! so what should i be looking at so? need as much info before i get it, as my ecu is already mapped will i need it mapped again once i get a diff one?

Yeah unfortunately you will need it mapped again, but you have the license so it should be cheaper, you could look at this as an opportunity to build a decent block to take big power, labor costs will be pretty much the same..I would speak to Dave @ STI tunning or Ali Burrows regarding a rebuild the auto engine would not Be a straight swap as far as I know but I'm no mechanic so wait and get that confirmed

really! thats very annoying! rebuild is a fortune, i dunno what to do, it will be with my original turbos anyway.
i'll give him ring and see, any more info would be great!

Well if your running orignal turbos no point in getting a forged build you wont gain any power, those turbos are maxed out at 1.25 bar which is within the capabiulties of the standard block, you migth be lucky and find a complete engine from a manual B4 in a breakers or dave may have one there..best to talk to a professional..another good man for advice is Ciaran from ASD automotive I don't know if he is doing rebuilds but I'm sure he would do a transplant for you if he has a block there, all the lads I mentioned are site traders and way more quailfied to speak.

thanks you've been very helpful. i think i'm sorted and happy all is good with the engine. its a rebuilt one already :icon_grin:
just hope it all goes well now and get the car back on the road asap