Uh oh!! Funny noise from engine.

gtpeadar

Petrolheads
Mornin all! Left the house ten mins ago for work. Started the car as normal and sat for a min or two. When i drive the car from cold i always take it very gently with no boost until its warmed up. Everythin was grand for a few mins til i pulled off a roundabout and i heard a knocking sound. Pulled in straight away, but decided it was better to head back to the house.

I'm no mechanic and anything i know about my car i've learned from all you guys here :icon_pray:
The car is a bit tappety when cold but this was louder. I instantly thought bye bye engine but its not a deep sounding knock, almost a flappy type of knock that matches engine speed, but definitely a knock. When i got back to the house i popped the bonnet and gave it a bit of a rev and couldn't hear anything nasty. I certainly hope its not fooked but i'm being cautious just in case.

It's not easy to diagnose anything with that description but does anyone have any ideas/suggestions of what it may be?

Thanks

Peadar

Do you have oil pressure gauge? What's the oil pressure on idle when engine`s warm?

When my bearing broke I had only around 1bar oil pressure - and as far as I know it typically is going very low on main bearing problems.
That could maybe tell us some more...

No oil pressure gauge i'm afraid.

After calming down a bit i went back out and checked oil, started it and let it warm up completely. Decided i'd go around the block for a brief (very cautious) spin. It's definitely not an engine problem now thank god. Think it could be a wheel bearing. Not sure how they sound when they're on the way out but there's a knockin sound from the passenger side front which seems more noticable when i let off the accelerator in 2nd or 3rd gear.

My first post was a bit alarmist. Think i'm a bit paranoid seeing as i still havent gotten it remapped and read quite a bit about big ends letting go and the like.

Thanks rudeboy :thumbsup: